Mission

Involved in Human and Ecological Forestry

Wood products are omnipresent in our lives. Every day, 8 million cubic meters of wood are harvested worldwide to fulfill human needs. It is possible to supply this demand while maintaining the sustainability of forest resources. Well planned forestry interventions allow for the careful management of our forests while assuring sustainable resource development. Aménagement Forestier et Agricole des Sommets Inc. integrates sustainable management practices in each of its interventions in effort to increase forest productivity and to maintain our forests ecological diversity.

History

Introduction of Forestry Groups in Québec

The first forestry group in Québec was founded in 1971 in the Matapedia Valley. This was the Agro-Forestry group of Restigouche.

This initiative was the work of Mr. Rosaire Beaulieu who wished to counteract against the close of parishes in eastern Québec. This was called “operation dignity”.

The idea was repeated in various regions across Québec and by 1975, 17 similar management groups existed across the province. Today, Québec's private forest sector totals 40 forestry groups.

As of 2002, Québec alone counted 24 631 land owners, each a member of forestry groups. Together they represented 1,768,897 hectares of manageable land. Their sales figures totaled $130,949,767 with 3,384 full-time employees.



Foundation of Aménagement Forestier & Agricole des Sommets Inc.

The founding assembly of the company was held in St-Malo on March 9th, 1978. 19 woodlot owners were present. It was during this assembly that the first administration council was elected:

  • Émile Madore, president
  • Roméo Doyon, 1st vice-president
  • Antoine Roy, 2nd vice-president
  • Armand Poudrier, administrator
  • Rosaire Pelletier, administrator
  • André Ménard, administrator
  • Roland Veilleux, administrator
  • Héliodore Côté, administrator
  • Jules Côté, administrator
  • Denis Fauteux, administrator

 

During its first year of operation, the company consisted of 42 land owners, totaling 1,800 hectares of forest. The management budget was calculated at $80,000 for a total sales figure of $235,000.

On May 28th, 1979, the administration council authorized the purchase of Relais St-Malo to be converted into its first head office. Prior to this, administrative decisions and office work were made from the president's or manager's home.

 

Company Evolution

Shareholding of the company has grown steadily from 42 shareholders in 1979 to 800 today out of a possible 2,650 potential shareholders within the management territory of Aménagement Forestier & Agricole des Sommets Inc.

On top of shareholding landowners, the company offers forestry management services to more than 800 others, representing more than 50% of land owners involved in the forestry sector.

In 1989, in order to answer landowner demands, the company relocated its head office to Coaticook. It was during this same period that a branch office was inaugurated in Cookshire-Eaton for coverage of the M.R.C. du Haut-Saint-François.

This interest for forestry development from landowners resulted in ever increasing activity levels year after year.

The first year's sales figures were just over $200,000. By 1989, after ten years of activity, the figures were 10 times higher attaining 2.2m$. 2008-2009 averaged sales figures of 4.5m$.

Most of the work is done locally. The company employs more than 55 full-time employees on top of awarding more than $750,000 in contracts to local businesses.

 

Company Involvement

Throughout the years, Aménagement Forestier & Agricole des Sommets Inc.'s expertise in silviculture has been recognized and solicited by various organizations with the mandate to organize their development.

To this end, our personnel and administrators have become involved in various committees inlcuding: regulations for tree cutting, provincial representation of Joint Management Bodies, the Agency for the Development of Private Forests of EstrieLocal Development Centres, the Research and Development Centre of Estrie, the Hardwood Research Commity of Estrie, the Integrated Wood Service of Estrie, the Estrie Management Society, etc.

The promotion of forest management is a constant concern for our company.

 

News

While maintaining its primary objective of managing the forests of its shareholders, Aménagement Forestier & Agricole des Sommets Inc. has diversified in order to stabilize all of its activities.

In addition, the possession of land makes it possible to stabilize the teams of workers by providing a bank of silvicultural work to be carried out.

 

Vision for the Future

Forestry work brings great results to the productivity of our forests. We can safely claim that the management of our forests is better planned and organized than it was in the past. However, improvement efforts in this direction must continue to be supported since we are only at the beginning of the cycle of rebuilding our forest capital.

Our communities are increasingly concerned about their environment. The quality of life in an area is measured by the quality of each of the elements that make up this environment. As 75% of the Eastern Townships consists of forest land, proper, sustainable management of this land affects everyone.

It is for these reasons that the Aménagement Forestier & Agricole des Sommets Inc. administrative council focus their decisions according to the concerns of our communities, landowners, and specialized staff.

The main objectives are to achieve quality work while enhancing the value of products from the forest.

It is important that a forest and its products be well managed. This insures the sustainability of our forests and their resources.

 

Conclusion

After more than 31 years, results from our dedicated efforts are being felt. Today, it is possible, from public roads, to notice what Aménagement Forestier & Agricole des Sommets Inc. has done to its territory over the years. Plantations, glades, drainage, regeneration treatements are all forestry activities that have, and will, improve the quality of our forest's productivity while stimulating local economy. The past guarantees the future. In the forestry sector, this expression has a whole different meaning; it takes more than 50 years to enjoy the fruit of hard work and care. On the other hand, careless activity in our forests can cause dramatic effects for generations to come.

31 years ago, a group of active individuals believed in the accomplishment of a shared vision. Their work gave us the ability to properly manage our forests; a benefit for us, landowners and the entire population. We thank these people for this gift.

Mission

Engagé dans une foresterie écologique et humaine
Les produits du bois sont omniprésents dans notre vie. Chaque jour, 8 millions de mètres cubes de bois sont récoltés dans le monde pour satisfaire aux besoins de l’homme. Il est possible de répondre à cette demande en bois tout en garantissant la pérennité de la ressource forestière. Des interventions sylvicoles bien planifiées permettent de gérer sainement la forêt et d’assurer le développement durable de cette ressource. Aménagement forestier et agricole des Sommets inc. intègre dans toutes ses interventions les principes de gestion durable qui visent l’augmentation de la productivité et le maintien de la diversité écologique des forêts.

Historique

Début des groupements forestiers au Québec
Le premier groupement forestier du Québec fut fondé en 1971 dans la région de l’Ascension de la Matapédia. Il s’agissait du Groupement Agro-Forestier de la Restigouche.

Cette initiative fut l’œuvre de M. Rosaire Beaulieu qui voulait, ainsi faire contrepoids aux recommandations de fermeture de paroisse dans l’Est du Québec. Ce fut ce que l’on appela; «l’opération dignité ».

L’idée fut reprise dans l’ensemble des régions du Québec si bien qu’en 1975 on comptait déjà 17 organismes de gestion en commun en activités. Actuellement, l’ensemble de la forêt privée du Québec est couvert par un des 44 groupements forestiers existants.

Au Québec en 2002, on dénombrait 24631 propriétaires membres des groupements forestiers représentant 1,768,897 hectares de forêt sous-aménagement. Le chiffre d’affaire des groupements forestiers du Québec était de 130,949,767 $ avec 3384 emplois à temps plein.


Fondation d’aménagement forestier & agricole des sommets
C’est le 9 mars 1978 à St-Malo qu’eu lieu l’assemblée de fondation de l’entreprise, assemblée à laquelle participaient 19 propriétaires forestiers. Lors de cette réunion assemblée le premier conseil d’administration fut élu à savoir :

Émile Madore, président
Roméo Doyon, 1er vice-président
Antoine Roy, 2ième vice-président
Armand Poudrier, administrateur
Rosaire Pelletier, administrateur
André Ménard, administrateur
Roland Veilleux, administrateur
Héliodore Côté, adminsitrateur
Jules Côté, administrateur
Denis Fauteux, adminsitrateur

Après la première année d’opération, l’entreprise regroupait 42 propriétaires forestiers représentant 1800 hectares de forêt. Le budget d’aménagement se chiffrait à 80 000$ pour un chiffre d’affaire total de 235000$.

Le 28 mai 1979, le conseil d’administration autorisait l’achat du Relais de St-Malo pour en faire son premier siège social. Auparavant, la tenue des conseils d’administration ainsi que le travail de bureau se faisaient au domicile du président ou du gérant de la compagnie.


Évolution de la compagnie
Depuis les débuts, l’actionnariat de l’entreprise a connu une progression constante passant de 42 propriétaires actionnaires en 1979 à actuellement 800 sur une possibilité totale de 2650 propriétaires pour l’ensemble du territoire couvert par Aménagement Forestier & Agricole des Sommets.

En plus des propriétaires actionnaires, la compagnie offre des services de gestion forestière à plus de 800 autres, ce qui représente plus de 50% des propriétaires forestiers qui sont impliqués dans la sylviculture.

En 1989 afin de bien répondre aux demandes des propriétaires l’entreprise a relocalisé son siège social à Coaticook. Durant la même période, une succursale fut inaugurée à Cookshire pour desservir le secteur de la MRC du Haut St-François.

Tout cet engouement des propriétaires pour l’aménagement forestier s’est traduit par un niveau d’activités plus élevé d’année en année.

Le chiffre d’affaire de la première année d’opération fut légèrement supérieur à 200,000$. Après dix années d’activités, soit en 1989, le chiffre d’affaire avait augmenté de 10 fois pour se situer à 2,2 M$. Pour l’année 2008-2009 avoisinait 4.5M$.

Presque toutes les activités sont réalisées en région. L’entreprise procure de l’emploi à plus de 55 personnes à temps plein en plus d’accorder des contrats pour plus de 750,000$ à des entreprises de la région.


Implication de l’entreprise

Au fil des années, l’expertise d’Aménagement Forestier & Agricole des Sommets en matière de sylviculture fut reconnue et sollicitée par divers organismes qui avaient le mandat d’en organiser le développement.

À cet effet, le personnel et les administrateurs ont eu à siéger sur des comités touchant ; les règlements d’abattage d’arbre, la représentation provinciale des OGC (RESAM), l’Agence de Mise en valeur de la Forêt privée de l’Estrie, les CLD, le CRD Estrie, le Centre de Recherche Estrien sur le Feuillu, le Service intégré du bois, la Société d’Aménagement de l’Estrie…

La promotion de l’aménagement forestier est une préoccupation constante pour l'entreprise.


Nouveautés
Tout en conservant son objectif premier d’aménager les forêts de ses actionnaires, A.F.A. des Sommets a diversifié ses champs d’action, afin de stabiliser l’ensemble de ses activités.

De plus, la possession de terrain permet de stabiliser les équipes de travailleurs en procurant une banque de travaux sylvicoles à réaliser.

Vision d'avenir
Force est de constater que la sylviculture donne de bons résultats sur la productivité de nos forêts. Nous pouvons facilement affirmer que la gestion actuelle des forêts est mieux planifiée et organisée qu’auparavant. Toutefois, les efforts d’amélioration en ce sens doivent être soutenus puisque nous en sommes qu’au début du cycle de reconstitution de notre capital forestier.

Aussi, les collectivités se préoccupent de plus en plus de leur environnement. La qualité de vie d’un secteur se mesure à la qualité de chacun des éléments qui compose cet environnement. Comme le territoire de l’Estrie est occupé à 75% par des forêts, la gestion de celles-ci touche l’ensemble des gens.

C’est pourquoi le conseil d’administration d’A.F.A. des Sommets oriente ses décisions en fonction des préoccupations des propriétaires forestiers, de son personnel et des collectivités.

Les objectifs principaux sont de réaliser du travail de qualité tout en valorisant les produits provenant de la forêt.

Nous devons bien cultiver la forêt, bien récolter ses produits et bien les vendre pour assurer la pérennité des forêts et des activités qui y sont reliées.


Conclusion
Après maintenant plus de 31 années, les résultats des efforts consacrés à la promotion de l’aménagement forestier se font sentir. Partout, sur l’ensemble du territoire d’Aménagement Forestier & Agricole des Sommets, il est possible d’apercevoir, à partir des chemins publics, des traitements sylvicoles réalisés tout au cours de ces années. Plantations, éclaircies, drainage, entretiens de régénération… sont tous des travaux forestiers qui ont permis, et qui permettront, d’améliorer la qualité et la productivité de nos peuplements forestiers, stimulant d’autant les activités économiques en région. Le passé est guarant de l’avenir. Dans le domaine forestier, ce proverbe prend un sens particulier puisqu’il faut plus de 50 ans d’efforts et de soins avant d’en récolter pleinement les fruits. Au contraire, des actions préjudiciables aux forêts peuvent avoir des répercussions négatives pour deux générations à venir.

Le travail des gens qui, il y a 31 ans, ont cru au regroupement des forces actives afin de réaliser un projet commun, nous permet aujourd'hui qu’aménager nos forêts c’est bénéfique pour nous, propriétaires forestiers, et l’ensemble de la collectivité. En votre nom à tous, nous les remercions.