Silvicultural Treatments

Following the development of a forest management plan, our specialized staff can continue to assist landowners in attaining their silvicultural objectives.

Pre-commercial Thinning

Pre-commercial Thinning invoves reducing the stem density in young plantations to favour the remaining stems. It is referred to as a pre-commercial thinning as the cut stems are too small for commercial use. The cut stems do not go to waste however, as they will decompose and release vital nutrients into the soil for the remaining stems.


The goal of this treatment is to lower the density of young stands and to reallocate resources to a smaller number of well distributed trees increasing their potential to develop. The advantages can be summed up as: obtaining quality wood, from desired species in the shortest amount of time. For softwood species and White Birch, the desired density after treatment is 2200 stems/hectare.

For hardwood stands, the treatment differs. The first step consists of positive tree marking. This means identifying, with paint, the future, quality stems to be conserved; ideally 300-500 stems/hectare. The second step consists of clearing around these stems with a brushsaw while retaining some undesired stems to act as a buffer. This buffer will serve to create shade in order to minimize the tree's production of lateral branches, encouraging them to grow vertically.

Traitements sylvicoles

Suite à la confection d'un plan d'aménagement forestier de votre propriété, nous pouvons réaliser divers travaux.

Éclaircie précommerciale

L’éclaircie précommerciale consiste à couper les tiges en surnombre dans un jeune peuplement, de façon à favoriser les tiges restantes. Le nom précommerciale provient du fait que les tiges abattues sont trop petites pour être commercialisées.

L’objectif de ce traitement est de réduire la densité d’un jeune peuplement et de redistribuer le potentiel de croissance sur un plus petit nombre d’arbres bien distribués. Les avantages peuvent se résumer ainsi : obtenir du bois de qualité, en essence désirée dans un plus court laps de temps.

Pour les peuplements à dominance résineuse ou de bouleaux, la densité recherchée après traitement est de 2200 tiges/hectare et toutes les autres tiges sont coupées. Pour les feuillus durs, le traitement est différent. Premièrement, nous devons procéder à un martelage positif, c’est à dire identification avec de la peinture des tiges d’avenir de qualité à dégager, entre 300 et 500 tiges/hectare bien réparties.  Le traitement consiste à dégager ces tiges tout en conservant des tiges que l’on appelle de rembourrage. Ces tiges de rembourrage vont servir à créer de l’ombre pour minimiser la production de branches adventives sur nos tiges de qualités sélectionnées.